The Presence Process: Summary Review & Takeaways

This is a summary review of The Presence Process containing key details about the book.

What is The Presence Process About?

The Presence Process is a journey that guides readers into taking responsibility for our emotional integration. It is a way to consciously grow up and become responsible for determining the quality of our personal experience.

The book teaches readers how to exercise authentic personal responsibility in a practical manner and reveals the mechanics that shape the way they feel about their lives. It offers a simple approach to accomplishing and maintaining personal peace in the midst of globally accelerating change, discomfort, conflict, and chaos.

Who is the Author of The Presence Process?

Michael Brown is the author of the three Namaste Publishing Inc. books: The Presence Process, Alchemy of the Heart and Cat Tales for Mariette. They make up a trinity of his exploration into techniques for emotional integration and growth.

[Favorite Quote]: "This journey isn’t about getting something done “as quickly as possible.” It’s about process, not instant gratification"

What are key takeaways from The Presence Process?

Learning how to better handle negative or uncomfortable emotions isn't about hiding from them or making yourself feel better, taking yourself from sad to happy, but about getting better at feeling.

How we feel about a present experience is a result of past conditioning therefore, any discomfort we feel now is a memory of something painful that happened to us in the past. Many of our emotions get stuck in us from childhood experiences which go onto distort our view as adults, and if undealt with, can go on to cause health issues.

Knowing that our uncomfortable emotions are a reflection from the past allows us to stop identifying with them. Treat the feelings as messages from the past, temporary experiences that you usually don't allow yourself to look into but that keep reoccurring until you acknowledge the event that caused them.

Your pain and suffering will lessen every time you bring awareness to your present situation so experience the emotions simply by paying attention to them but without judgment or resistance.

Takeaway #2 You Are Responsible For Your Life Experience

Whatever has happened to you is not your fault but it is up to you to choose how you deal with the cards life has played you. Responding rather than reacting is a principle lesson to grasp in the Presence Process and will help you to stop blaming yourself and others.

Reacting means you unconsciously act out based on past patterns. We react in moments of emotional discomfort usually to defend ourselves or to attack another.

Responding means you are consciously aware (responsible) for your emotional state and chose to behave based on what is happening in the present moment instead of projecting your emotions on someone else.

The Presence Process helps you to understand that each and every person or situation that causes you to react is an opportunity to understand and heal. The people who cause us to react defensively or attack are actually showing us our hidden pain, giving us the opportunity to realize it, feel it, and ultimately heal from it.

Takeaway #3 Being Present Is The Greatest Service We Can Do For Ourselves and Humanity

With so many self-improvement products on the market, it can be hard to know where to start on the road to becoming the best version of yourself. But if you start by being present aka mindful, having an awareness of what's going on in the here and now, positive change will follow in all aspects of your life as well as in the lives of those around you.

Book details

  • Print length: 325 Pages
  • Audiobook: 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Genre: Spirituality, Nonfiction, Self Help, Personal Development, Psychology

What are the chapters in The Presence Process?

Chapter One - What is the Present Moment Awareness?
Chapter Two - The Heartbeat of Reinforcement
Chapter Three - Aligning Intent
Chapter Four - Mechanics of the Process
Chapter Five - Consciousness of Questions
Chapter Six - Movement Beyond Motion
Chapter Seven - The Pathway of Awareness and Seven-Year Cycle
Chapter Eight - Emotional Imprinting
Chapter Nine - Emotional Charge
Chapter Ten - Beyond Addiction and Affliction
Chapter Eleven - Trading Results of Consequences
Chapter Twelve - The Process Trinity
Chapter Thirteen - An Integrative Approach
Chapter Fourteen - Level of Entry
Chapter Fifteen - Navigational Guidance
Chapter Sixteen - Insight and Felt-Perception
Chapter Seventeen - Activation and Maintenance
Chapter Eighteen - The Consciously Connected Breathing Practice
Chapter Nineteen - Into Breath
Chapter Twenty - Presence and Individual Expression
Chapter Twenty-One - Onward, Inward, and Upward
Chapter Twenty-Two - Identifying Messengers
Chapter Twenty-Three - Receiving Insight
Chapter Twenty-Four - Feeling Unconditionally Integrates
Chapter Twenty-Five - Ingregrating Our Childhood
Chapter Twenty-Six - Integration of the Child Self
Chapter Twenty-Seven - Integrating Charged Emotion
Chapter Twenty-Eight - The Mechanics of Reactivity
Chapter Twenty-Nine - The Emotional Integration Procedure
Chapter Thirty - Into the Water
Chapter Thirty-One - Embracing Physical Presence
Chapter Thirty-Two - Feeling Our Way Through
Chapter Thirty-Three - Peace is a Vibration We Feel
Chapter Thirty-Four - Realizing Peace Through Forgiveness
Chapter Thirty-Five - Praying for Forgiveness
Chapter Thirty-Six - Integrating Our Unconscious Definition of Love
Chapter Thirty-Seven - Manipulation
Chapter Thirty-Eight - Giving Unconditionally Is Receiving
Chapter Thirty-Nine – Consciously Entering the Unified Field
Chapter Forty - Living on Purpose
Chapter Forty-One  - Appreciating Appreciation
Chapter Forty-Two - Where There's a Gardener, There's a Garden
Chapter Forty-Three - Fruits and Flowers
Chapter Forty-Four - Radiating Present Moment Awareness Responsibly
Chapter Forty-Five - The Story of Clive and Nadine

Chapter Forty-Six - The Organic Unfolding of Present Moment Awareness
Chapter Forty-Seven - Freedom is Responsibility

What is a good quote from The Presence Process?

"We mistakenly spend our experience trying to get something instead of simply receiving that which is already and eternally given."

― Michael Brown - The Presence Process Quotes

* The summary points above have been concluded from the book and other public sources. The editor of this summary review made every effort to maintain information accuracy, including any published quotes, chapters, or takeaways

Chief Editor

Tal Gur is an author, founder, and impact-driven entrepreneur at heart. After trading his daily grind for a life of his own daring design, he spent a decade pursuing 100 major life goals around the globe. His journey and most recent book, The Art of Fully Living, has led him to found Elevate Society.

On average, 90% of what we read is forgotten within the first hours after reading... Which is why it’s so important to apply what you read.

Click below to get a free workbook of one of my top recommended books of all times, filled with in-depth insights, action points and self exploration exercises.
Align With Your Why

Read The Art of Fully Living

There's no going back-once you embark on the journey you're meant to live, it's impossible to settle for anything less than your dreams.

Click here to learn more
Elevate Society via
Elevate Society supports thousands of individuals in developing countries
Learn More

This book just may change your life

One Year to Freedom is more than a personal development book. It's a roadmap for living life on your own terms and it just might change your life.

Click here to learn more
How Elevated Is Your Life? How Elevated
Is Your Life?